SPECIAL BOARD MEETING MAY 1, 2025

A special meeting of the Grant Park Community Unit School District No. 6 Board of Education, Kankakee County, State of Illinois, was held on May 1, 2025, in the Middle School Library.

The meeting was called to order by Superintendent Palan at 6:00 p.m. and the pledge of allegiance was recited.

CANVASS OF VOTES AND DECLARATION OF ELECTED SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS:

Dr. Palan presented the county clerk's canvas of votes and declared Vicki Gawlinski, Tim Markland and Dave Marshalek as elected school board members as a result of the April 1, 2025 election.

A brief discussion ensued regarding filling the open board position. It was decided to interview all of the people that submitted applications. The time and date of the interviews will be set at the May 19th regular meeting.

Roll Call: 6:00 p.m.

Members present: Vicki Gawlinski

Christine Horn Jerry Loitz Tim Markland Dave Marshalek Mike Wells

Also present: Dr. Palan, Superintendent

Mrs. Sue Anderson, Recording Secretary

Audience of 0

OATH OF OFFICE:

The Oath of Office was administered to all newly elected board members.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

Motion was made by J. Loitz, seconded by V. Gawlinski, to nominate Tim Markland president. Roll Call: J. Loitz – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; C. Horn – yes; D. Marshalek – abstain; M. Wells – no; and T. Markland – yes.

Motion was made by M. Wells, seconded by C. Horn, to nominate D. Marshalek president. Roll Call: M. Wells – yes; C. Horn – yes; V. Gawlinski – no; J. Loitz – no; D. Marshalek – abstain; and T. Markland – abstain.

T. Markland was elected president.

Motion was made by D. Marshalek, seconded by C. Horn, to nominate M. Wells vice-president. Roll Call: D. Marshalek – yes; C. Horn – yes; V. Gawlinski – abstain; J. Loitz – no; M. Wells – abstain; and T. Markland – no.

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by J. Loitz, to nominate V. Gawlinski vice-president. Roll Call: T. Markland – yes; J. Loitz – yes; V. Gawlinski – abstain; C. Horn – yes; D. Marshalek – no; and M. Wells – abstain.

V. Gawlinski was elected vice-president.

Motion was made by V. Gawlinski, seconded by D. Marshalek, to nominate J. Loitz secretary. The nominations were closed. Roll Call: V. Gawlinski – yes; D. Marshalek – yes; C. Horn – yes; J. Loitz – yes; M. Wells – yes; and T. Markland – yes.

J. Loitz was elected secretary unanimously.

<u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ORGANIZATION</u> DELEGATES:

Board members appointed themselves to the following committees and organizational delegates/representatives as follows:

Building and Grounds – J. Loitz, D. Marshalek
Negotiations – T. Markland, V. Gawlinski
Technology – C. Horn, M. Wells
School Improvement, Curriculum – C. Horn, V. Gawlinski
Finance/Transportation – M. Wells, C. Horn
Communications – V. Gawlinski, T. Markland
Ag Alumni – D. Marshalek
Board Policy – Ad Hoc: All board members serve.
Budget – Ad Hoc: All board members serve.
IASB Board Representative – V. Gawlinski
Three Rivers Delegate – V. Gawlinski
Kankakee Area Special Education Cooperative – D. Marshalek

ADOPTION OF BOARD MEETING DATES/LEGAL FIRM AND AUDITING FIRM/ BOARD OF EDUCATION POLICY MANUAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE

Kankakee Area Career Center Administrative Council - J. Loitz, M. Wells

PROCEDURES/DEPOSITORY FOR DISTRICT #6 FUNDS:

Motion was made by J. Loitz, seconded by V. Gawlinski, to adopt the schedule of regular board meeting dates as presented. The board will continue to meet on the third Monday of each month, with the few noted exceptions, at 6:00 p.m. The motion also included approval of Himes, Petrarca and Fester as the district's legal representatives and Russell Leigh and Associates as Auditor on Record; approval of the Board of Education Policy Manual and Administrative Procedures; and approval of Midland States Bank for District #6 depositories. Roll Call: J. Loitz – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; C. Horn – yes; D. Marshalek – yes; M. Wells – yes; and T. Markland – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURN:

Motion was made by J. Loitz, seconded by V. Gawlinski, at 6:30 p.m. to adjourn. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously.

Jerry Loitz	Tim Markland
Secretary	President