SPECIAL BOARD MEETING APRIL 27, 2021

A special meeting of the Grant Park Community Unit School District No. 6 Board of Education, Kankakee County, State of Illinois, was held on April 27, 2021, in the Middle School Library.

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Markland at 6:00 p.m. and the pledge of allegiance was recited.

CANVASS OF VOTES AND DECLARATION OF ELECTED SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS:

Mr. Markland presented the county clerk's canvas of votes and declaration of Vicki Gawlinski, Tim Markland, Shari Ohm and Dave Marshalek as elected school board members as a result of the April 6, 2021 election.

Roll Call: 6:00 p.m.

Members present: Vicki Gawlinski

Christine Horn Jerry Loitz Tim Markland Dave Marshalek Shari Ohm Hollie O'Nions

Also present: Dr. Palan, Superintendent

Ms. Tracy Planeta, ES Principal Dr. Matt Maxwell, MS/HS Principal

Mrs. Sue Anderson, Recording Secretary

Audience of 1

OATH OF OFFICE:

The Oath of Office was administered to all newly elected board members.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

Motion was made by J. Loitz, seconded by C. Horn, to nominate Tim Markland president. The nominations were closed. Voice vote, all yes. T. Markland was elected president unanimously.

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by H. O'Nions, to nominate V. Gawlinski vice-president. The nominations were closed. Voice vote, all yes. V. Gawlinski was elected vice-president unanimously.

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by V. Gawlinski, to nominate J. Loitz secretary. The nominations were closed. Voice vote, all yes. J. Loitz was elected secretary unanimously.

<u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ORGANIZATION</u> DELEGATES:

Board members appointed themselves to the following committees and organizational delegates/representatives as follows:

Negotiations – T. Markland, S. Ohm **Technology** – C. Horn, S. Ohm

School Improvement, Curriculum - C. Horn

Board Policy - Ad Hoc: All board members serve.

Budget – Ad Hoc: All board members serve.

IASB Board Representative – Open

Three Rivers Delegate - Open

Kankakee Area Special Education Cooperative – D. Marshalek Kankakee Area Career Center Administrative Council – H. O'Nions

ADOPTION OF BOARD MEETING DATES/LEGAL FIRM AND AUDITING FIRM/ BOARD OF EDUCATION POLICY MANUAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES/DEPOSITORY FOR DISTRICT #6 FUNDS:

Motion was made by J. Loitz, seconded by V. Gawlinski, at 6:13 p.m. to adopt the schedule of regular board meeting dates as presented. The board will continue to meet on the third Monday of each month, with the few noted exceptions, at 7:00 p.m. The motion also included approval of Himes, Petrarca and Fester as the district's legal representatives and Russell Leigh and Associates as Auditor on Record; approval of the Board of Education Policy Manual and Administrative Procedures; and approval of Midland States Bank for District #6 depositories. Roll Call: J. Loitz – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; C. Horn – yes; D. Marshalek – yes; S. Ohm – yes; H. O'Nions – yes; and T. Markland – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

EXECUTIVE SESSION:

Motion was made by S. Ohm, seconded by C. Horn, at 6:15 p.m. to go into Executive Session for the appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, performance, or dismissal of specific employees of the District or legal counsel for the District, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee or against legal counsel for the District to determine its validity. 5 ILCS 120/2(c)(1), as amended by P.A. 93-0057.

Roll Call: S. Ohm - yes; C. Horn – yes; V. Gawlinski - yes; J. Loitz - yes; D. Marshalek - yes; H. O'Nions - yes; and T. Markland - yes. Motion carried unanimously.

RETURN TO REGULAR MEETING:

President Markland declared the closed session was over at 7:04 p.m. and the meeting would continue in Open Session.

APPROVAL OF EXECUTIVE SESSION MINUTES:

Motion was made by H. O'Nions, seconded by J. Loitz, at 7:04 p.m. to approve the Executive Session minutes as read. Roll Call: H. O'Nions - yes; J. Loitz - yes; V. Gawlinski - yes; C. Horn - yes; D. Marshalek - yes; S. Ohm - yes; and T. Markland – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

APPOINTMENT OF MATH INTERVENTIONIST POSITION FOR 2021-2022:

Motion was made by C. Horn, seconded by V. Gawlinski, to approve the appointment of Nina Zalewski as Math Interventionist for the 2021-22 school year. Roll Call: C. Horn - yes; V. Gawlinski - yes; J. Loitz - yes; D. Marshalek - yes; S. Ohm - yes; H. O'Nions - yes; and T. Markland – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURN:

Motion was made by J. Loitz, seconded by H. O'Nions, at 7:06 p.m. to adjourn. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously.

Jerry Loitz	Tim Markland
Secretary	President