SPECIAL BOARD MEETING APRIL 24, 2019

A special meeting of the Grant Park Community Unit School District No. 6 Board of Education, Kankakee County, State of Illinois, was held on April 24, 2019, in the Middle School Library.

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Palan at 6:45 p.m. and the pledge of allegiance was recited.

CANVASS OF VOTES AND DECLARATION OF ELECTED SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS:

Dr. Palan presented the county clerk's canvas of votes and declaration of Dave Dickson, Christine Horn, and Jerry Loitz as elected school board members as a result of the April 2, 2019 election.

Roll Call: 6:45 p.m.

Members present:	Dave Dickson Jerry Fick Vicki Gawlinski Christine Horn-arrived at 6:46 p.m. Jerry Loitz Tim Markland
Members absent:	Shari Ohm

Also present: Dr. Palan, Superintendent Sue Anderson, Recording Secretary

Audience of 1

OATH OF OFFICE:

Dr. Palan administered the Oath of Office to all newly elected board members.

ELECTION OF OFFICERS:

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by J. Loitz, to nominate Dave Dickson president. Dr. Palan closed the nominations. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously. D. Dickson was elected president unanimously. Motion was made by D. Dickson, seconded by J. Fick, to nominate T. Markland vice-president. Dr. Palan closed the nominations. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously. T. Markland was elected vice-president unanimously. Motion was made by D. Dickson, seconded by T. Markland, to nominate J. Fick secretary. Dr. Palan closed the nominations. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously. J. Fick was elected secretary unanimously.

APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ORGANIZATION DELEGATES:

Board members appointed themselves to the following committees and organizational delegates/representatives as follows:

Building and Grounds – J. Fick, J. Loitz
Negotiations – T. Markland, S. Ohm
Technology – C. Horn, S. Ohm
School Improvement, Curriculum – C. Horn, S. Ohm
Board Policy – Ad Hoc: All board members serve.
Budget – Ad Hoc: All board members serve.
IASB Board Representative – S. Ohm, alternate D. Dickson
Three Rivers Delegate – S. Ohm
Kankakee Area Special Education Cooperative – D. Dickson
Kankakee Area Career Center Administrative Council – J. Fick, alternate D. Dickson

ADOPTION OF BOARD MEETING DATES:

Motion was made by J. Fick, seconded by C. Horn, at 6:53 p.m. to adopt the schedule of regular board meeting dates as presented. The board will continue to meet on the third Monday of each month, with the few noted exceptions, at 7:00 p.m. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF LEGAL FIRM AND AUDITING FIRM:

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by J. Fick, at 6:54 p.m. to approve Scariano, Himes and Petrarca as the district's legal representatives and Russell Leigh and Associates as Auditor on Record. Roll Call: T. Markland - yes; J. Fick yes; V. Gawlinski - yes; C. Horn - yes; J. Loitz – yes; and D. Dickson – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION POLICY MANUAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES:

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by C. Horn, at 6:55 p.m. to affirm the Board of Education Policy Manual and Administrative Procedures. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously.

APPROVAL OF DEPOSITORY FOR DISTRICT #6 FUNDS:

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by J. Fick, at 6:56 p.m. to approve Midland States Bank for District #6 depositories. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously.

ADJOURN:

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by C. Horn, at 6:57 p.m. to adjourn. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously.

<u>_Jerry Fick</u>___ Secretary Dave Dickson President