### SPECIAL BOARD MEETING APRIL 19, 2017

A special meeting of the Grant Park Community Unit School District No. 6 Board of Education, Kankakee County, State of Illinois, was held on April 19, 2017, in the Middle School Library.

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Palan at 6:45 p.m. and the pledge of allegiance was recited.

Roll Call: 6:45 p.m.

Members present: Dave Dickson

Jerry Fick Christine Horn Jerry Loitz Tim Markland

Member absent: Shari Ohm

Also present: Dr. Palan, Superintendent

Mrs. Sue Anderson, Recording Secretary

Ms. Tracy Planeta, ES Principal Mr. Tom Sanidas, MS/HS Principal

Ms. Vicki Gawlinski, School Board Member - elect

Audience of 5

# CANVASS OF VOTES AND DECLARATION OF ELECTED SCHOOL BOARD MEMBERS:

Dr. Palan presented the county clerk's canvas of votes and declaration of Jerry Fick, Vicki Gawlinski, Tim Markland and Shari Ohm as elected school board members as a result of the April 4, 2017 election.

#### OATH OF OFFICE:

Dr. Palan administered the Oath of Office to all newly elected board members.

#### **ELECTION OF OFFICERS:**

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by J. Fick, to nominate Dave Dickson president. Dr. Palan closed the nominations. Roll Call: T. Markland – yes; J. Fick – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; C. Horn – yes; J. Loitz – yes; and D. Dickson – yes. D. Dickson was elected president unanimously.

Motion was made by D. Dickson, seconded by J. Loitz, to nominate T. Markland vice-president. Dr. Palan closed the nominations. Roll Call: D. Dickson – yes; J. Loitz – yes; J. Fick – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; C. Horn – yes; and T. Markland - yes. T. Markland was elected vice-president unanimously.

Motion was made by D. Dickson, seconded by C. Horn, to nominate Jerry Fick secretary. Dr. Palan closed the nominations. Roll Call: D. Dickson – yes; C. Horn – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; J. Loitz – yes; T. Markland – yes; and J. Fick - yes. Jerry Fick was elected secretary unanimously.

## <u>APPOINTMENT OF COMMITTEE MEMBERS AND ORGANIZATION</u> DELEGATES:

Board members appointed themselves to the following committees and organizational delegates/representatives as follows:

**Building and Grounds –** Jerry Loitz and Jerry Fick

**Negotiations/Finance –** Tim Markland and Shari Ohm

**Technology –** Shari Ohm and Christine Horn

Curriculum - Shari Ohm and Vicki Gawlinski

**Chamber of Commerce –** Jerry Loitz and Christine Horn

**Board Policy – Ad Hoc:** All board members serve.

**Budget – Ad Hoc:** All board members serve.

IASB Board Representative – Vicki Gawlinski

Three Rivers Delegate – Vicki Gawlinski

**Kankakee Area Special Education Cooperative –** Dave Dickson and Tim Markland

Kankakee Area Career Center Administrative Council – Jerry Fick and Dave Dickson

### **ADOPTION OF BOARD MEETING DATES:**

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by J. Fick, at 6:57 p.m. to adopt the schedule of regular board meeting dates as presented. The board will continue to meet on the third Monday of each month, with the few noted exceptions, at 7:00 p.m. Roll Call: T. Markland – yes; J. Fick – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; C. Horn – yes; J. Loitz – yes; and D. Dickson – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

### **APPROVAL OF LEGAL FIRM & AUDITOR:**

Motion was made by T. Markland, seconded by J. Fick, at 6:57 p.m. to approve Scariano, Himes and Petrarca as the district's legal representatives and Russell Leigh and Associates as auditor of record. Roll Call: T. Markland – yes; J. Fick - yes; V. Gawlinski - yes; C. Horn - yes; J. Loitz - yes; and D. Dickson – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

# APPROVAL OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION POLICY MANUAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE PROCEDURES:

Motion was made by J. Loitz, seconded by J. Fick, at 6:58 p.m. to affirm the Board of Education Policy Manual and Administrative Procedures. Roll Call: J. Loitz - yes; J. Fick - yes; V. Gawlinski - yes; C. Horn - yes; T. Markland - yes; and D. Dickson – yes. Motion carried unanimously.

### APPROVAL OF MIDLAND STATES BANK:

Motion was made by J. Fick, seconded by C. Horn, at 6:58 p.m. to approve Midland States Bank for the district's depositories. Roll Call: J. Fick – yes; C. Horn – yes; V. Gawlinski – yes; J. Loitz – yes; T. Markland – yes; and D. Dickson - yes. Motion carried unanimously.

#### **ADJOURN:**

Motion was made by J. Fick, seconded by C. Horn, at 6:59 p.m. to adjourn. Voice vote, all yes. Motion carried unanimously.

Jerry Loitz	<u> Dave Dickson</u>
Secretary	President